Skip to content

The Beginning

August 30, 2009
tags:

Today is August 30, 2009.

Second last day of the 8th month of the year.

28 days from August 3, 2009, when I saw “Departures” at Carlton theatre and had one of the most emotional cinema experiences of my life.

355 days from September 10th, 2008, when I saw “The Hurt Locker” and “Slumdog Millionaire” at Ryerson theatre as part of TIFF 2008.

725 days from September 6th, 2007, when I accidentally had my first TIFF experience while walking past Roy Thompson Hall, and ended up seeing “Fugitive Pieces” at the opening night gala.

Approximately 13 years from my first cinema experience, at the little theater that used to reside in the building attached to Dundas subway station, beside Eaton Center in Toronto. I recall bits and pieces of the film, but can’t be sure what it was.

12 days from September 10th, 2009, when TIFF 2009 opens.

My love affair with film runs long and deep, and is inexplicably intertwined with my respect for the power of language.

In a way, cinema is an entire language of its own, elevating the written words from their pages into a multi-dimension visceral experience. I will never claim that movies are better than books. But a great one can be. And it’s always fun to watch creative, passionate people attempt to reach greatness.

The world is a playground, life is pushing my swing…and cinema is the wind that caresses my face, breezes through my hair, and lifts me up, higher and higher.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Monali permalink
    August 31, 2009 7:35 PM

    Hey! I’ll keep checking in from time to time.
    I tried to think of reasons why I love the movies and one is because of their accessibility. Majority of folks I know enjoy the movie-going experience and most like talking about what they’ve seen. Once one begins, it can be hard to shut up ;-) . For me, movies are a great way to connect – they give a sort of platform where to share ideas and thoughts and to maybe even find common ground. So it’s great to see you creating a bit of a community around this shared love/interest of ours. Nice job!

    • Grace permalink*
      September 1, 2009 11:50 AM

      I agree. A lot of topics that may be taboo in daily conversations are somehow ok when it’s in the context of movies. It’s also escapism – always nice, most welcomed.

  2. February 11, 2010 3:49 PM

    Hi Grace!

    So here I am, at your first post, about to read the first review you ever wrote in this blog (cue anticipation). I have to say, though my first entry was back in May 2009 (three months before you started this blog), it’s amazing how good you writing was, even six months back, whereas mine (I hope) has gotten much better since my first effort.

    Now I’m off to read your review for Departures, a movie that I (sadly) have still not seen. Then again, if I were to watch all of the films that you have recommended through your blog, I would have no time for writing, or reading. :-P

Leave a Reply

