Skip to content

Summer fading

September 16, 2009

Last night, for the first time in months it got nippy, such a chill, in fact, that I had to break out my leg warmers and leather jacket to brace myself for the walk to a friend’s for wine and cake.

Today, despite having on a blouse and blazer, I find myself wishing that I had a scarf on the way to work…

Sigh, summer is really fading. Simple denial just won’t do any more.

In memory of my favorite season, here are some of my favorite things about summer:

Brunch on the patio:

Bloody Mary at Brunch

crabcake bennies

Pretty flowers:

Pretty flowers

Weekend roadtrips:

Desserts and ice cream…even better together:

crepe harboring icecream

Strolling the streets aimlessly in summer dresses:

A pint of white beer on the patio:

white beer on patio

and of course…chilling on the beach, under azure skies, cotton white clouds, the sun blazing, with a good book, some great tunes, delightful company, and yummy coconut sunscreen tanning oil.

beaching

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    October 1, 2009 11:27 PM

    Hi Grace,

    Just wait until you get to Australia in December – you will have another month of summer! You will be very spoilt. Ooh and you will be able to experience an Australian summer Christmas: summer clothes, seafood, salad, refreshing wine, and a picnic on the beach during the looonnnnnggg warm summer days :D It is a beautiful day right now in Perth and I am dying to get out in the sun, so I think I might go have my lunch outside right now ;)

    Amy
    http://amysodyssey.wordpress.com/

    • Grace permalink*
      October 7, 2009 5:25 PM

      Amy, I just realized that you said Perth! I will be going there. I’ll see you on the beach :)

Leave a Reply

