Skip to content

Simple Goodness

September 27, 2009

There is nothing better than brunch on Sundays.

Sleep in till you can’t sleep any more…no alarm. Throw on a soft cotton tee and jeans, an easy dress if the weather permits, and some flats. Sunglasses and scarf drapes with the yearnings of weekend freedom, lazily wander down the street to one of the endless cafes, restos, and brunch joints in the city. If you can get a table on the patio on a sunny day – absolute bliss.

cup of joe

Toronto is probably the best place I’ve visited for brunch. Torontonians are passionate about it. There are lists after lists of the best brunch places in town, and the perpetual arguments over which ones come out on top. Nowhere else really cares about the activity to the same degree of fervor. There are also a myriad of choices: upscale for the yuppies, diner chic for the hippies, college street for the hipsters, queen street west for the starving artists, and of course there’s always that neighbourhood mom and pops joint that does it just right, be it homemade banana bread or greasy homefries.

Grab a table in the corner, order a coffee and enjoy the endless refills – the waitress keeps on topping me up so I never know exactly how much liquid gold I’ve had, but it’s the weekend, and for once the caffeine isn’t to keep me awake for work, and I love that.

cup of goodness

(by the way, why do people call it a cup of joe? I always wondered.)

Then….somewhere between that second breakfast pocket and the unbelievable potato and yam hashbrowns, it struck you – life is good.

boots

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2009 1:12 PM

    i’ve heard that the term dates from world war two, when coffee loving gi joe yanks went over the pond and spent time with their tea drinking allies.

  2. Andrew permalink
    September 28, 2009 1:16 PM

    I prefer it when my coffee is not “topped” up or “warmed” up or anything. I really messes up my configuration of a “little” bit of cream and “small” bit of sugar.

    But Sunday brunch is quite fantastic.

  3. Grace permalink*
    September 28, 2009 1:28 PM

    Hmmm I was surprised when googling didn’t turn up any solid answers hence the question. Here is all I could find:
    http://ask.yahoo.com/20061016.html
    http://www.answerbag.com/q_view/15444
    Both seem to suggest that the term came from a US Navy General’s alcohol ban on a ship in WWI…although I fail to see how that actually led to the creation of the phrase.
    Even my beloved wikipedia fails: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cup_of_joe
    Any other ideas?

    Andrew – I know exactly what you mean – and I’ve given up on trying to calibrate that ratio, especially on Sundays.

Leave a Reply

