Skip to content

Let Them Eat Cake, I said

November 2, 2009

Eli's

…and they did, and so did I. Last week, as if by sheer magic, the Saigon Cinnamon Chocolate Cheesecake from Eli’s Cheesecake in Chicago, first recommended by Ebert on his blog in retort to my proclamation of love for the maple pumpkin cheesecake I discovered right here in Toronto, descended upon me. It was a last minute surprise…handmade in Chicago, brought fresh via an eight hour drive, and placed in my hand on a chilly autumn evening. The cardboard box compact and heavy. It seemed smaller than I thought, quietly laying in my palms. I examined it carefully, trying to keep it steady in an upright position as I carried it home.

I somehow found the strength to restrain myself from opening the box until the next night, when a friend was scheduled to drop by for tea. All day at work the cake haunted me. I visited Eli’s website repeatedly, looking at the slice of perfection that perches on the screen, so elegantly provocative. I thought about making it my desktop background just for the day, but then scolded myself for even having such maschoist impulses.

Saigon Cinnamon Chocolate Cheesecake

When the time came, I could barely wait for the water to boil before ripping into the packaging. The plastic wrapping was no match for my ravaging desire. Already pre-divided into 12 even slices, there was nothing else to do except to…well, partake. I picked up a fork and with a deep breath, took the plunge.

……..

It took a full five seconds for my brain to comprehend the buttery substance that melted on my tongue and coated the bubbly surface in a rich slush of sugar and cocoa.

…moist…creamy…..a bittery dark bite…intense shot of chocolate….and a tinge of cinnamon that threads throughout, rising to the roof of my mouth, slowly wavering towards the back of my throat, quivering, and lingers there…until the last drop has been absorbed.

Perfection.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2009 9:57 AM

    Thanks for your great comments on our Saigon Cinnamon Chocolate Cheesecake. We look forward to you coming to visit us in Chicago and to you discovering many more of the distinctive flavors in our Couture Collection.

    Marc Schulman
    Eli’s President

    Grace: Thank you for creating something so lovely for me and my friends to drool over and gobble about. It has provoked some great conversations amongst great company. I look forward to trying more too, in particular the carrot cake…

  2. November 2, 2009 2:52 PM

    Cheesecake is my kryptonite. I would’ve had someone else drive and eaten the entire cake on the way home. Then again, I doubt I would be driving from Seattle to Chicago. In that case, I would’ve eaten the whole thing before I boarded the plane.

    Dang! Now you’ve made me hungry for cheesecake, and it’s not even eleven am out here!

    Grace: well, lunch is soon…

  3. November 3, 2009 10:07 PM

    Hi Grace. Elegant post, and my blood sugar is spiking just looking at that picture of the cheesecake. I may have to drive 3 hours North and get me some!

    Thank you for your comments on my photowebsite. I’m glad that you enjoyed the fall gallery. :)

    Grace: Hi Randy! They were fantastic. Still my work desktop background :)
    p.s. anyone interested in gorgeous autumn photos, click on Randy’s name to see the pics.

Leave a Reply

