Skip to content

What Trailers Should Be

November 2, 2009

So much beauty here…it’s spine tingling.

 

Depp as the Mad Hatter…stop teasing me already.

What films can’t you wait for coming out?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2009 2:59 PM

    Let’s hope they don’t make more trailers of these two movies to spoil the surprise. I’ve noticed that trend with other movies, where the first trailer will be as evocative as the two above, and then the next trailer (or two) will give the entire movie away. Either way, both movies look great.

  2. November 2, 2009 5:50 PM

    The film I’ve been waiting for and can hardly wait no longer is Malick’s “Tree of Life.” The man’s only made four movies in 35 years! This will be his fifth. There’s no trailer for it yet, but you can rest assured that there will be nothing that spoils this film in one.

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0478304/

    Grace: I like the sound of it so far. Sean Penn never disappoints.

  3. November 2, 2009 7:53 PM

    I just hope “Tree of Life” is better than “The Thin Red Line.” Not that “The Thin Red Line” didn’t have its moments, but they were separated by large gulfs of nothingness.

    As for movies I’m looking forward to, I can’t wait for “Up in the Air,” Jason Reitman’s new movie with George Clooney.

    Grace: Up in the Air is great. I wrote about it at TIFF.

    • November 3, 2009 12:03 AM

      To me, there are no ‘moments’ in TTRL. I experience it as a continuum of profound moods — surprising coming from a “war” film no less. And I suspect that “Tree of Life” will be similar (and maybe more extreme in this regard) given some stuff the production designer Jack Fisk has stated.

      Maybe there’s gulfs of nothingness insofar as conventional narrative is concerned. But I suppose one man’s gulf is another man’s vista.

      Grace: love that line.

  4. November 3, 2009 1:39 AM

    This is true, and who’s to say what I would think of “The Thin Red Line” now, after seeing Tarkovsky’s “Solaris” and having another decade’s worth of movie experiences to filter it through? Still, I am in no hurry to go back and see that film, so I will instead wait for “Tree of Life.”

    FYI: “Saving Private Ryan” came out the same year as “The Thin Red Line,” which also contributed to my negative view of “The Thin Red Line,” as one is the antithesis of the other. My main complaint, though, is that I thought it should have ended earlier than it did, as it seemed to lose its narrative focus after the first battle. But, to each his own. I’ll enjoy my vistas, and you enjoy yours. :-)

    Grace: I loved Soderbergh’s “Solaris”. In fact, I want to see it again, and the Tarkovsky original. There are so much food for thought there. This part of RE’s review really resonated with me given my feeling towards humanity:

    That is a peculiarity of humans: We feel the same emotions for our ideas as we do for the real world, which is why we can cry while reading a book, or fall in love with movie stars. Our idea of humanity bewitches us, while humanity itself stays safely sealed away into its billions of separate containers, or “people.”

    • November 3, 2009 10:24 PM

      I remember reading that roger quote. He’s full of wonderful morsels like that.

  5. November 3, 2009 6:46 AM

    I personallly just hate the whole idea of a trailer. They tell you little, if anything, about the movie or its quality. So, all they can do is spoil it.
    Okay, fine, they can also show you the look of a film, but then they inevitably go with the best frames, which diminishes their value in the movie.

    • January 27, 2010 11:38 AM

      These two make me admit that I’m completely wrong:

      The first gets my heart racing even though it is in a language I don’t understand.

      Grace: I thought they were ok. I prefer this though: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eafJ4jvf-sY

      • January 28, 2010 3:46 AM

        This must be the height of divergent tastes.

        I liked the Single Man trailer, but it makes the movie look like it’s about a guy who doesn’t know whether he’s straight or gay or bi.

  6. November 3, 2009 10:53 PM

    Have not seen Soderbergh’s “Solaris,” but Tarkovsky’s is hypnotic. Just as you start to get bored, just as you start to wonder why you are watching this movie, something strange happens: the real world falls away, and you are completely in his world, with its strange sounds, imagery, and pacing. The effect is that, while you can’t decide whether or not you enjoyed the film once it’s done playing, you know that you’ll never forget the experience. I think it’s because Tarkovsky doesn’t just let you watch this film; he lets you wallow in it.

Leave a Reply

