Skip to content

Forgotten Blues

January 12, 2010
tags: ,

I’ve always been fond of forgotten, overlooked things.

You know…those that are just a little too plain for the spotlight, a little too quirky, not so refined, just a little…off.

Looking over my photos, I suddently noticed how many images of unknown, blue flowers I have. Floral macro shots have always been a staple in my travels, but the forgotten blues…I seem to have an innate affinity for, evidently.

There are wispy blues…

Dreamy blues…

Forgotten blues…

Each of these was stumbled upon unbeknownst by me, in a patch of untended soil somewhere in a forgotten corner, an abandoned crack, or an overlooked sidewalk. Unnoticed by the masses, they are outcasts in their own floral company. Beside them often stood beautiful roses and manicured petals, stunning in their bright colors and passionate hues. What can the little blue flowers do? They can’t change who they are. They don’t want to. They stand alone, glorious in their serenity.

I don’t even like blues. It’s a depressing color…too cool to suit my temperament, and too plain to match my closet. If one lacks a preference for a particular color, one often grasps for blue. If a man is at a lost for a tie or a shirt, the safe bet is to go for a shade of blue. Blue is calming. Blue is safe. Blue is…boring.

Yet time and time again, I find myself drawn to the little blue flowers. The wispy, dreamy, forgotten blues. They linger, and stretch into an endless blanket of silky memoirs that wrap around my consciousness like a cocoon that engulfs the butterfly. The sleep is so enticing. The metamorphosis natural.

Then…sometimes, I catch a sight so perfect, a shade of blue so true, bathed in a light so moving, that its plainness is transformed into the deepest, most trembling hue that I can ever imagine. And I am captured.

And it is no longer forgotten.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2010 12:01 AM

    Blue is freedom, blue is vast. What sight can compare with that of a cloudless dome of brilliant blue. I love to take pictures if the sky with the hint of a steeple or electric wires thrown in for variety. Some great pictures by a great photographer

    Grace: Beautiful photos. Beautiful planet.

  2. January 13, 2010 12:03 PM

    Blue is vast. Blue is everywhere.

    But beautiful blue is much harder to find. I’m glad you found it.

    And yes, men where too many blue shirts (usually with Khaki pants).

    Glad to see a new post, Grace!

    Grace: If you’re gonna go with a blue shirt, forget Khaki and at least go for grey pants. It’s a fail-safe combo that looks good on everyone.

  3. January 19, 2010 11:55 AM

    where did you learn to write? I really like how you write about movies and other things as well.

    plum
    Don’t Be a Plum

    Grace: I learned languages in school. Writing stemmed from there.

  4. January 23, 2010 1:01 AM

    “Teardrops in the rain.”

  5. January 24, 2010 12:19 AM

    Beautiful pictures, Grace.

    I want to write something profound about your post, but…the profundity is stuck in the back of my head. I’ll be back when it finds its way to my fingertips.

  6. February 2, 2010 10:04 AM

    Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya

    Robert Shumake Fifth Third

Leave a Reply

