Skip to content

Memory Shells

February 22, 2010

Memory, languishing forth,

A drop of ivory, upon arrest;

Wrinkled reveries, you harbor,

And whisper, tales of labor.

Venus shells, you embrace,

With trembling tips, I trace.

Broken violets of fancied dream

Pours, upon weary souls a stream.

Along the watery glass I stroll,

Uncoiled in notes of a lost song.

Still, vexed is my soul,

Yearning, clawing, all day long.


Night falls, and I succumb,

The siren calls, an otherworldly hum.

Memory slithers, temptress of dark;

Heart dithers, with melancholy bark.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 4:43 AM

    cutest post!

  2. February 22, 2010 10:57 AM

    this was very good.

  3. February 22, 2010 1:24 PM

    Grace, have you ever considered quitting your “real” job and just writing full time? The poem itself is lovely, but I think your photographs make it even better!

    Grace: Yes…as soon as I figure out what to do about rent and student loan payments, I shall do so.

  4. February 23, 2010 8:11 PM

    Considering how much poetry written nowadays is nonsensical drivel, or just plain awful (yet praised as “new and fresh”), I’m glad to know that somebody can still write this stuff. Kudos!

    P.S. Since I have no job to quit, I could easily write full-time, myself, but like you, there is the question of food, and yes, student loans, and rent. But, that doesn’t mean I stop writing, either. I’m glad you follow this philosophy, too. :-)

  5. February 26, 2010 10:49 PM

    beautiful Grace!!!!

Leave a Reply

