Skip to content

Lemon Bitter Friday

March 19, 2010

I love photos of food and drinks, and I love to really get in there, almost awkwardly close, where the color and texture and mini sweats of perspiration fill the frame and spill over. Yeah, love that.

So it’s Friday and I’m thinking a drink photo is in order. Actually, I quite like these days of the week themed posts. They are just so…easy, to love, in a completely self-indulgent kind of way, like Southern deep fried po-boys and salsa and old school reggae and New Orleans jazz. Yeah, I miss all that.

Lemon Bitters, according to wikipedia, originated in Australia, which is where I first had them. Haven’t seen them since I got back and it’s another thing I miss about the land down under (first being my twin, of course). Although google image search reveals only crappy pictures of such an amazing drink – fizzy, citrusy, sweet, bitter, unpretentious, cheap, and comes in a warm honey amber hue. What’s not to love?

Last weekend was productive and inspiring. This week has been flying by. Been writing lots. Tap-tee tap tap. Bergman and Tokyo Story this weekend. Are you excited? I am.

Cherrios, lemon bitter Friday.

p.s. Compelled to include some salsa to ease you into the weekend, courtesy of the kind sir James A. Reeves over at KinoSport, whose music taste alone induces a shade of verde in me, which is not always a good look with my yellow skin undertones.

Right, enough talking:

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 2:15 PM

    I have Late Spring, another Ozu film, ready to go tonight, and I’ll be watching Ang Lee’s Lust, Caution again on Sunday. Really looking forward to your opinion of Tokyo Story!

    Also, are lemon bitters anything like lemon sours? I’m guessing they’re similar except, instead of being bitter, they’re sour. ;-) Anyway, I would highly recommend lime and kiwi sours to anyone who likes sweet drinks (and is of legal age), especially when singing karaoke. If you can’t get those drinks, then go for a lemon sour.

    And, not to shamelessly self-promote, but if you like pictures of food, you might like this entry: http://dreamsoflit.blogspot.com/2009/07/cooking-as-pastime.html

    Grace: Onigiri!!! I could die for one right now.

    • March 19, 2010 11:13 PM

      And they’re heart-shaped :-), though if you can figure out how to make one at home, without all of the rice falling out the sides of the nori, let me know!

      P.S. If I can somehow scrape together enough money to travel to my friend’s wedding in Australia (she gets married in August), maybe I can try a lemon bitter then. Next up, blood sausage (tomorrow)! Details to follow. Happy Friday!

  2. DAG permalink
    March 19, 2010 5:40 PM

    I watched four DVDs this week (Yi Yi, Hunger, Marie Antionette, and Ozu’s The End of Summer). Earlier this month I watched Tokyo Story and The Seventh Seal. This weekend I’ve got Jean-Luc Godard’s Breathless.

    The sun is streaming through my window as I type this. Will the weekend give us the good weather we’ve enjoyed during the work week?

    Ah, and I turned 42 on Thursday.

    Grace: Happy belated Birthday! I have faith it’ll be sunny this weekend.

  3. March 20, 2010 12:35 AM

    mmm, a lemon bitter would go so well with a po’boy. And maybe a beignet for desert.
    I think they’re the perfect spring drinks, almost a tease for summer.

    happy movie watching this weekend!

    Grace: That could be a perfect meal.

  4. August 12, 2010 6:57 AM

    Grace! They are like my standard lunch/dinner drink when I’m in a restaurant. I had no idea they originated here. Did you have one when we had lunch together in Freo?

    Yep, I’m commenting a bit late, but I was just strolling through the old posts I’d missed.

    I love super food close-ups too. :O I just looked at that photo again – that WAS the drink at our lunch! I see my phone hahaha :D Well I am not going to change the rest of my comment :D

    Glad you love it

    xx

    Grace: That was the drink at our lunch :) I remember how refreshing it looked after that blazing walk in the sun! xo

Leave a Reply

