Skip to content

In Between

May 5, 2010

, originally uploaded by ohsweetnuthin.

Me, You, All that space.

The huge world swells, like pride within a mother’s chest.

The lone shadow hovers, like a dove across the cloudless sky.

In between, shades of gray teem, and life abounds.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 2:53 PM

    Interesting that one of the “Possibly related posts” listed is “Climate Change Can Wet Pants, Too.”

    ….

    Somehow, I don’t think that title fits with the solemnity of this poem. x-O

    By the way, I notice that, in your poems, you often capitalize certain words within the text that usually aren’t capitalized, in order to give them emphasis. Are you an Emily Dickinson fan, by any chance?

    Grace: Did she do that? I don’t go searching for poems and read only what I happen upon…these things excape me.

    Not planned. It’s just a gut feeling. Some words look better some ways.

    • May 5, 2010 8:16 PM

      Sometimes, usually when personifying something, such as in this poem:
      “Because I Could Not Stop for Death”

      I also do that occasionally, too, but I don’t think I’ve posted those poems on my blog. My high school poetry collection (which I feature on the sidebar) includes a few examples.

      Just out of curiosity, what poems (or poets) do you like? Or do you not have a preference?

      Grace: I like most the Romantics poets, Keats etc. Poetry is very personal to me, and I don’t like to intellectualize it or examine it. I see what I see, and I feel how I feel, and I write what I write. Serendipity is just fine.

      • May 6, 2010 4:54 PM

        That’s fine by me. :-)

        I also like the Romantics, maybe because they realized that they were writing for common people, and not for scholars or professors or the nobility. But then I also like Yeats and Plath, who were more contemporary. Like you said, “I see what I see, and I feel how I feel, and I write what I write.”

        Poems that don’t speak to me individually I tend to call New Yorker poetry (sorry, inside joke). ;-)

        Grace: I like New Yorker poetry…well, some of them.

  2. May 6, 2010 6:50 PM

    Maybe they’ve gotten better since I subscribed to it back in 2004, though they did have the occasional great poem or two, usually by a Nobel Prize-winning poet.

Leave a Reply

