Skip to content

LONESOME TOWN

June 24, 2014

Two years ago today, I shot this film.

At the time, I didn’t know the song, the sounds, the images awaiting ahead. I was seized with this feeling of something familiar and strange, something soft buried in the dampness of my chest, toward the back, against my stubborn, proud spine.

The sense of loss was palpable when I stepped off the train… it was my first time — a last minute decision on a last minute trip.

Then it hit me.

Coney Island was a postcard of dreams. I knew it before I knew America. Years of elegant decay had rendered a place whose magic, once captured beautifully on film, felt like remnants of a potent memory.

(shot on iPhone 4 in the time it took to eat a popsicle and dance a salsa.)

Official Selection:
2013 Scarborough Film Festival
2013 Toronto Reel Asian International Film Festival
2013 San Diego Asian Film Festival
2014 Milton Film Festival
2014 CAAMFest

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2014 10:42 PM

    Wonderful Grace. Rather than lonesome it had an interestingly calming effect on me. Bravo.

  2. July 29, 2014 6:03 PM

    Nice. :-)

Leave a Reply

