Skip to content

The Poetry of the Red Shoes

November 14, 2009
tags: ,

Jimmy Choos

I nearly died today, acquiring these red shoes.

There is something about them.

It is part of a special collection between H&M and Jimmy Choo. One time only.

An employee remarked that the crowd was: “like a pack of hungry wolves…devouring everything.”

One woman approached me while I was trying to nonchalantly balance the numerous boxes that tower over me in my arms.

“Can I have that?” She whispered loudly, staring straight at me, her eyes glazed over with a sheen of…confusion? Desire? I couldn’t tell.

“No,” I stared back, surprised by the calm of my voice when my mind is racing at a million miles frantically: Is she going to take my boxes? Why? Is she mad? Do I not seem like I want them? I am holding them, aren’t I? Wait…I am holding them, right?

“You can’t, I’m sorry.” I relented my gaze. I was never very good at staring contests.

 

Somehow, being in the presence of red shoes make me incredibly happy.

It’s maddening, I know.

I could weep poetries about their beauty.

Their allure.

Their passion.

Their mystery.

It’s like the sky opened up and an unknown deity of limitless power reached down and pulled me up by the wrists, lifting me up in the air, rising through the atmosphere, higher and higher, the wind skins past my flesh with merciless force and yet leaving behind not a sliver of wound. Rays of the sun beam through me, envelop me with its millions of tiny fingers, and gently brush every molecule of my being alive with warm, miniscule yet definite vibration…I hum with notes of joy.

Yes…I could weep (but I won’t).

In a way, I secretly love the confusion of desires that swirls within me. The inexplicable draw fills me with curiosity, and wonder, and I happily leave it room to ferment.

There is something about them, the red shoes.

Yes, there is.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2009 2:55 AM

    “I could weep poetries about their beauty.” That line is sheer brilliance. I wonder if you get a tingling sensation akin to buying red shoes when you write lines like that. It’s so rare that we writers write such wonderful lines like that, but when we do…and when other people NOTICE….:-)

    On a personal note, thank you for adding my blog to your list. I hope you enjoy what you find there. Also, tucked away at the bottom of the page, in the banner, is a quote by Robert Schumann, which I found when commenting on your post about Hoop Dreams.

  2. November 15, 2009 9:27 PM

    “…I hum with notes of joy”
    Ahh so true. There is something about buying accessories that are coloured red that makes you feel what you have so accurately described here. I only have one pair of red shoes and I wish I had more (just wait til I am not a uni student anymore…). They just have an added magic to them and you can’t help but be drawn in. Maybe we all want to be Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz ;)

    Congrats on scoring a pair of those shoes, they look absolutely gorgeous!

    Amy

    Grace: we’ll have to grab a coffee or a slushy when I get there next month…and maybe go on a photography sess? :)

    • November 16, 2009 8:41 PM

      Sounds great! I will definitely be up for both of those suggestions :)
      A lot of the best little spots for coffee are near the ocean, but head east and you have the hills and some nice bushland, and head a little further out and you have some old country towns (which always have the best bakeries). Depending on the time I could actually take you quite a good little tour and we can get lots of good photos :)

      Grace: excellent! I’ll get in touch closer to the date :)

  3. November 16, 2009 9:26 AM

    Proves that anything can serve as a subject for writing! After all the objective is to fly into the skies of the Word and a pair of new red sandles is certainly magic carpet enough!

    Ofcourse, the shoes are pretty !

Trackbacks

  1. These Red Shoes « Buttercup600's Blog

Leave a Reply

